Decorative image of a snow capped mountain The Virtual School logo Image of a man standing on a mountain top. Just decoration
A small box showing either todays date or the time
A small box showing either todays date or the time



Association of Teachers's Websites The Geography Site

Key Stage 4

The National Curriculum in the UK divides the work to be undertaken into Key Stages, starting with Key Stage 1 (KS1) covering pupils aged 5 to 7, and ending with Key Stage 4 (KS4) for pupils aged 14 to 16.

Within each Key Stage, work is graded by complexity and the ability needed to complete it. The term used for the different grades is 'Levels'. In Key Stage 4, pupils are expected to be performing between Levels 4 and 10.

To help illustrate this, these are typical activities at the lower and upper Levels of Key Stage 4.

Level 4 (Lower Level)

* Identify parts of a river system including sources, channel, tributaries and mouth.

* Describe how some earth movements are violent, and explain, in simple terms, how volcanic craters, cones and lava flows are formed.

Level 10 (Higher Level)
* Explain which geomorphic processes were significant in the development of an area's landforms; which are still operating; and suggest, with reasoned arguments, the likely effect of those processes in the future.

Click to go back one page

We value your ideas and suggestions. Please contact the maintainer of this site.

This page can be found at:

Last update to this statement was on: October 27, 2005

© Copyright Geography Site

Logo of NGFL NGfL Home Page Black rectangle that is part of the bar along the bottom of the page