Decorative image of a snow capped mountain This is the geography site logo Image of a man standing on a mountain top. Just decoration
A small box showing either todays date or the time
A small box showing either todays date or the time


Examinations Contact Details


The Assessment and Qualifications Alliance (AQA) came into existence in April 2000 following the merger of the Associated Examining Board and the Northern Examinations and Assessment Board and is the largest of the three English unitary awarding bodies.AQA offers a range of qualifications and services, including GCSE, GCE, GNVQ, VCE and Entry Level.

City and Guilds

City & Guilds is the leading provider of vocational qualifications in the United Kingdom. Their qualifications assess skills that are of practical value in the work place. They are recognised for their quality and are valued by employers in every sector of business. Qualifications include NVQ and Key Skills

Department for Education and Skills (DfES)

The DfEE site is H.M Government's website for the Department for Education and Skills

Department of Education for Northern Ireland



Edexcel was formed in 1996 by the merger of BTEC (the Business & Technology Education Council) and ULEAC (the University of London Examinations and Assessment Council).  Both were leaders in their respective fields of academic and vocational qualifications.  Now Edexcel provides a very wide range of qualifications to cater for all needs and learning styles.

Learning and Skills Council

The Learning and Skills Council is responsible for funding and planning education and training for over 16-year-olds in England.

OCR (Oxford/Cambridge/RSA Examinations)

OCR was formed in 1998 from the University of Cambridge Local Examination Syndicate and RSA. OCR offers an broad range of qualifications..

Qualifications and Curriculum Authority

The Qualifications and Curriculum Authority (QCA) is a guardian of standards in education and training. It maintains and develops the school curriculum and associated assessments, and accredits and monitors qualifications in schools, colleges and at work.

Scottish Qualifications Authority

SQA is the national body in Scotland responsible for the development, accreditation, assessment, and certification of qualifications other than degrees.

Welsh Joint Education Committee

The WJEC provides a range of educational services which include offering a range of academic and vocational qualifications, in-service training for teachers (INSET), training materials and easy access to subject officers and a range of educational resources including Welsh-medium resources and support for the Curriculum Cymreig.


Click this button to return to the last visited page

We value your ideas and suggestions. Please contact the maintainer of this site.

This page can be found at:

Last update to this statement was on: April 21, 2003

© Copyright Geography Site

Logo of NGFL NGfL Home Page Black rectangle that is part of the bar along the bottom of the page